Weekend Recap: Baking

This weekend has been filled with baking fun. My sister-in-law has been visiting the past few days so I’ve been making treats galore. I love baking and trying new recipes so when there is an extra person around to try my food I jump on the chance to share the love.
I already wrote about my banana bread and peanut butter cups that I made. Those are obviously already gone.
So of course we needed more treats right? Yes!
I love a good peanut butter recipe so this time I created some pb pretzal rice krispies

image

image

These are truly delicious and simple to make.
1/4 cup butter
1 10.5 ounce bag mini marshmallows
4 cups rice krispies ( I used the new gluten free kind!)
1/2 cup peanut butter
2 1/2 cups crumbled pretzals

1. Melt the butter in a large pot on low heat.
2. Stir in bag of marshmallows until almost melted
3. Stir in pb until smooth
4. Remove from heat and stir in rice krispies and pretzals.
5. Pour and press down mixture into a greased 9 by 9 pan.
6. Cut into pieces and devour!

I put them in the refrigerator for about 15 minutes before cutting in to them. ( It was hard, but licking all the marshmallow goodness off the spoon did help restrain me)

Not only did I make the pb rice krispies, but I also made some chocolate chip heath bar cookies.
Fritz pretty much devoured them all before I could take a picture! Darn him. I will be making them again very soon though as they were absolutely delicious.
They looked pretty similar to these

image

Except with heath bar pieces in them. I will post the recipe soon.
I have a box of reese’s pieces I want to incorporate into a recipe soon too. That is if Fritz doesn’t eat the entire box before I get the chance. I caught him with a handful last night around midnight. He thought I wouldn’t notice. I even hid the box! Atleast I thought I did. I had to scold him and let him know they are meant for baking not mindless eating, haha.
We shall see if there any left tonight though:)
I hope you all are having an amazing memorial day and I will talk to you soon!
-Did you bake any treats this weekend?
– Do you have a significant other with sticky fingers?

About coffeecardiogoddess

Hi! I am a 24 year old fun spirited girl living in corpus christi, tx with my husband and our three adorable dogs, marty and bella the dachshunds and odie the poodle. I am obsessed with starbucks and visit religiously, its like my own personal cheers "where everybody knows your name" corny cheers theme song. I love to experiment and try making new healthy recipes to enjoy. I live by the mantra you are what you eat and try my best to keep my body fueled with only the most fresh and natural ingredients. Not that i wont turn down dessert, like ever!! I try to maintain a balanced life by eating healthy while enjoying tasty treats and working out. I hope you enjoy reading the chronicals of my everyday life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

