My weight loss journey

image

Me, about 40 pounds heavier

The girl pictured above is not the person who would stand before you that runs this blog.  I made a decision a few years back to stop eating crap food and get my butt in the gym.  I was eating literally what ever I felt like without giving a nutrition fact label a second glance.  I didnt even really understand how calories in and calories out even worked.  I always felt like I could eat basically whatever I wanted because in high school I was pretty thin.  I never took into consideration all of the activities I did back then though either.
My weight loss by any means did not happen overnight. It took a good year and a lot of dedication to get myself to a happy place.
For the majority of my weight loss I could be found at the gym almost everyday, running for about 45minutes minimum and then proceeding to do a circuit workout for my legs and arms for another 35.  Ask me how I wasnt starving after all that and I couldnt tell you.
I completely changed my eating habits and became obsessed with hungry girl’s cookbooks as a way to cut out calories.  I also completely cut out soda, anything with high fructose corn syrup, bread in any form, and sweets.  It was pretty dramatic.  Once i started losing weight, I got a lot of compliments and that made me feel great!
But I fear that I ended up taking my healthy eating obsession a bit to far.

image

My lowest weight to date, but Ive moved up from this a bit!!

I like the way I look now compared to then, but Ive come to realize I do need to gain some weight.  Ive been making every effort to do so, but after 2 years of eating so much healtier, its been a struggle.  I cant erase the book skinny bitch from my mind, or all of the facts that I read online about how bad certain things are for you.  I cant forget about how 3,500 calories equals a pound or the horrors of high fructose corn syrup.  Although all of these things are true, I have most definately been able to start allowing myself to venture into these “bad” territories.  I used to be so dramatic as to workout hardcore, and then simply eat carrots, salad and fruit for the day.

Me at the weight I should be

I would like to get to a happy medium weight. (Like in the picture shown above)  Ive found eating a bit more and doing workouts like pilates that mostly tone your body, is working for me.  I also stopped completely ruling out all “bad” for you foods. I love fro yo!! If you’ve read any of my previous posts I mentioned this before.  I have also come to understand that fattening foods won’t make you fat.  I can go through an entire jar of peanut butter in a week.  Yummm.
Its all about balance. Something that I havent budged on and I feel is very important if you aren’t going to run or do a ton of cardio. Do not eat past 7pm.  I still feel like this can be justified.  Your body doesnt need anymore nutrients when you are simply going to hang around on the couch for the remainder of the night and do nothing but go to bed.
Im not saying I never do this, but majority of days I will not eat anything after 7.  Im still tweaking to find that perfect balance so that I can reach a more healthy weight, but on my terms. Im not about to start downing entire cheesecakes or boxes of little debbies just to gain a few pounds.   I still feel it is important to eat mostly fresh foods that do your body good.  You are what you eat after all.
Im sorry that I rambled, but a friend requested me to write about how I lost so much weight and I wanted to let her know the truth behind it. It is very important to not let yourself get caught up in the glamour of weight loss.  Im still trying to figure that out myself.

Until later today everyone!! Have a good one! I will leave you with something that is sure to make you smile:

Two little sleeping angels

About coffeecardiogoddess

Hi! I am a 24 year old fun spirited girl living in corpus christi, tx with my husband and our three adorable dogs, marty and bella the dachshunds and odie the poodle. I am obsessed with starbucks and visit religiously, its like my own personal cheers "where everybody knows your name" corny cheers theme song. I love to experiment and try making new healthy recipes to enjoy. I live by the mantra you are what you eat and try my best to keep my body fueled with only the most fresh and natural ingredients. Not that i wont turn down dessert, like ever!! I try to maintain a balanced life by eating healthy while enjoying tasty treats and working out. I hope you enjoy reading the chronicals of my everyday life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My weight loss journey

  1. Amanda says:

    this is a cute story I like it

  2. Alicia says:

    Good post Krystal:) love you and you are beautiful no matter what weight u are ❤

Leave a Reply

