My all-time favorite breakfast

image

This is my all time favorite breakfast.  its a variation on a recipe I found in Alicia Silverstones cookbook The Kind Diet.  Although I am not a complete vegan, ( sorry fishies, I love sushi) her book has some awesome recipes.  It is seriously the best tasting bowl of oatmeal ever.  I once made it for lunch and dinner in the same day.  Yes its that delicious.

So now that Ive built it up so much im sure you would love the recipe.  Luckily Im more then happy to oblige because no one should be denied a giant bowl of delicious oatmeal.
Apple cinnamon oatmeal
1/2 Cup old fashioned oats
A little under 1 cup water
A little under 1/2 cup milk ( i use unsweetened almond breeze)
3/4 an apple chopped into small cubes (most will go into one pot on the stove, save a small handful to put in a seperate pot.)
Ground cinnamon ( add as much as desired)

1. Place all ( except for a small amount of the apple cubes) ingredients into a small pot on the stove.
2. Place the remaining apple cubes in a seperate pot on the stove.
3. Turn first pot on to medium high heat and stir ingredients until boiling. Bring temp down to low.
4. In the 2nd pot add 1/4 cup milk and a few dashes of cinnamon to apples.. Turn pot to medium heat and stir apples.
5. Continue stirring both pots for about 7 minutes until oats begin to thicken.  add more cinnamon along the way!
6. The second pot with only apples in it should thicken up and apples should look moist. Use these to top your oatmeal.
7.  i like to add in maple syrup to my oatmeal and i even sometimes top it with fatfree reddiwhip, soo good!

image

8. If im in the mood for a crunch i use cascadian farm organic cinnamon crunch on top.

image

Now im totally salivating and ready for some oats! Have a great day everyone

About coffeecardiogoddess

Hi! I am a 24 year old fun spirited girl living in corpus christi, tx with my husband and our three adorable dogs, marty and bella the dachshunds and odie the poodle. I am obsessed with starbucks and visit religiously, its like my own personal cheers "where everybody knows your name" corny cheers theme song. I love to experiment and try making new healthy recipes to enjoy. I live by the mantra you are what you eat and try my best to keep my body fueled with only the most fresh and natural ingredients. Not that i wont turn down dessert, like ever!! I try to maintain a balanced life by eating healthy while enjoying tasty treats and working out. I hope you enjoy reading the chronicals of my everyday life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My all-time favorite breakfast

  1. I forgot to mention i use organic fuji apples for the recipe! Those are my favorite. Also sorry that 2 of the pictures are sideways. Im still learning.

  2. savannah says:

    Wow that sounds delicious! Thanks for the recipe:)

  3. Alicia says:

    I know you have made this a bunch for me but I finally made it myself today for dinner and it turned out good:)

Leave a Reply

