MIMM: Book Worm

Happy Monday blog readers!

How was everyones weekend?

Mine was filled with a whole lot of reading and I loved every moment.

image

Today is Marvelous in my Monday hosted by the lovely Katie.

I wanted to take the time to share with all of you the books I’ve read so far this year.  I recommend all of them and hope this inspires you to read a book this week.

I set a new year’s goal for myself to read a book for every week of the year in 2013. So far I am on track to meet this goal, but with school starting on Wednesday we shall see how that goes.

The first book I read in 2013 was given to me as a Christmas gift from my sister. One of my favorite authors is Sophie Kinsella and this book is supposed to be written in the same style with similar humor.

image

I will say I enjoyed the book, but it did take me a while to read it despite how shirt it is, 215 pages.  It’s not very well written and this author doesn’t hold a candle near Sophie Kinsella.
I did think it was an overall cute book and I enjoyed it though. 

image

This next book I literally could not put down and I’m already anxiously awaiting the April release of the sequel novel.  The Selection is a dystopian style novel about a future world where the United States no longer exists and is now known as Illea and is run by a king and queen.  The prince chooses his wife by having a televised show a la The Bachelor, where he narrows it down to his wife from 35 girls.  The story centers around America, a girl who had no interest in being the The Selection,  but was chosen none the less because of her beauty.  I couldn’t get enough of this book and The next one called The Elite will be released in April.
Highly Recommend!

image

I picked this book up from the library when I saw the December book club pick from http://pbfingers.com.  I had to wait to get it though and only just read it over the weekend. Another excellent book that I couldn’t put down.  The book follows Alice, a woman whose lost the memory of the last ten years of her life and must try and figure out what went wrong in her marriage and how she became the person she is today.  I loved the concept of this book because it reminded me of my favorite Sophie Kinsella book called Remember Me? Such a hilarious and witty book, I highly recommend it.
Although What Alice Forgot isn’t as humorous as Remember Me?, it still kept me reading and wanting to know more about Alice and the past ten years of her life.

image

The next book I purchased from Amazon because I knew I would love it and I was absolutely right.
I enjoy the pretty little liars series and this is a prequel novel told from Allison’s perspective. You discover how exactly she was murdered and what was going through her head towards the end of her life. I also enjoyed how you got to know the real Allison and what she really thought of her friends.
Highly Recommend,  If you like Pretty Little Liars.  Warning: Do not read this book if you haven’t read the first nine Pretty Little Liars books because it does tell you who really killed Allison and that is not revealed until the PLL book titled Wanted.

image

I purchased this book from Amazon Kindle for my phone because it was only 3.50. However, even though I knew it was a Novella I had no idea it was going to be sooo short! I should have looked before buying it because it was only 80 pages. No wonder it was so cheap. I read it in less then a day of course and it left me wanting more. It was a big tease. I enjoyed it, but I wish it was longer.
This was another prequel book, but for a different series called The Lying Game which is written by the same author who writes Pretty Little Liars.
I recommend reading The Lying Game books and save your money on this Novella. 

image

I’m now presently reading Beautiful Creatures which I picked up at Barnes and Noble this morning after reading a 30 page sample last night on my Amazon Kindle and getting sucked in.
It’s a long book and I’d rather have a physical copy then read it on my phone because I’m old fashion like that.
I really want to go see the movie on Valentine’s Day, but I have to read any books that are turned into movies before seeing the movie, otherwise I will most likely never read the book.
I’m on page 57 so far and it is definitely interesting.

-What is the most recent book you’ve read?
-Any recommendations for me?

About coffeecardiogoddess

Hi! I am a 24 year old fun spirited girl living in corpus christi, tx with my husband and our three adorable dogs, marty and bella the dachshunds and odie the poodle. I am obsessed with starbucks and visit religiously, its like my own personal cheers "where everybody knows your name" corny cheers theme song. I love to experiment and try making new healthy recipes to enjoy. I live by the mantra you are what you eat and try my best to keep my body fueled with only the most fresh and natural ingredients. Not that i wont turn down dessert, like ever!! I try to maintain a balanced life by eating healthy while enjoying tasty treats and working out. I hope you enjoy reading the chronicals of my everyday life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MIMM: Book Worm

  1. healthydivaeats says:

    I am sad to say I have not been reading! Well, take that back, I have been reading a couple baby books! Thanks for the book recs, I need one to read!

    Happy week love!

  2. Prayers and Apples says:

    sometimes i feel like i live in the wrong century lol but i only read (and re-read!) really old books! i probably need to get with the times, but the most recent book i read was ‘the screwtape letters’ by c.s. lewis – really good! but also really old lol :)

Leave a Reply

